Tags

, , , , , ,


Halloween is probably my favorite holiday and before you all start freaking out and talking about the horrible history behind it let me just say that it is my favorite holiday mostly because you get a mountain of free candy and I’m a fatty and live for that sort of thing. Besides that I really enjoy dressing up and seeing everyone in their most creative fantasy garb. Halloween is the one time of year where you can pretend to be anyone you want to be…vampire, werewolf, Cinderella, witch, zombie, etc.

We don’t usually decorate the inside of our house for holidays, usually only outside and some years we’re just too lazy to even do that. I have spent countless hours over the past year and a half pinning holiday themed diy decorating ideas on Pinterest. I couldn’t just let Halloween pass me by without doing at least one of them right? I’m not really going to call this a tutorial since I’m sharing this with you after the fact but after I got so many compliments about how great my witchy nook turned out, I thought I’d share my inspiration so that if you want to create your own, you’d have references.

When I was trying to decide which of my Halloween diy pins to work on, I kept thinking about witches and witch themed decorations which of course made me think of one of my favorite movies, Hocus Pocus. I thought it would be awesome to try and recreate their spell book and after doing some research I found that several people had tutorials online for it.  Now being the lazy bum that I am I had already decided that if I had to make a trip to Hobby Lobby or Wal-Mart or any other store for supplies to make any of these decorations, it just wasn’t happening. I had to make due with whatever I could find around the house. That being said, recreating Hocus Pocus’ spell book was out. I wasn’t too discourage though because I found this pin from Better After. Her books look awesome! I didn’t have everything I needed to make mine look like hers but I sort of combined her ideas with a ideas from this video by JC Frias and this is what I got.

I love the way it turned out!

I love the way it turned out!

Remember how I said that if I had to go to the store to get supplies that I just wasn’t going to be making that particular craft? Well I really really really really really really wanted to make the spell book and I didn’t have a book that would work for this project but luckily I have joined 827 online yard sale sites on Facebook (that’s a post for another day) and managed to connect with someone in our subdivision who had a huge book I could have – so glad she found my post!

After I finished my book I decided I needed some potion bottles to go along with it. I started saving empty jars and bottles to use. I got the idea to use old condiment bottles from this pin on instructables.com by Crafty Dabbler. I liked the idea of painting the bottles black and adding a label but I didn’t want to hand write mine so I found a template online and edited it in Photoshop. I didn’t save the page where I found the label or else I would have linked it here. My bottles weren’t the right size to put wine corks in so I had to find another way to close of the lids and still make them look authentic. I found a post somewhere (again, didn’t save it so I can’t link it) but the author of the post used coffee filters and dyed them with tea bags and used those as bottle tops and then wrapped twine around them. That’s what I did and here is the finished product…

Love them!

Love them!

Once I had these finished I was ready to set them up. We have this little cut out nook type thing (yes that is the technical term) right in the entry way of our house and there is absolutely nothing in it so I felt like this was the perfect place to display these decorations. Earlier in the week, Siobhan mentioned that we had a bag of eye balls in the Halloween tote and that we should put those in our fish bowl (rest in peace Dude, goldfish we had for 3 days). I took her advice and filled the fish bowl with water and dyed it red with food coloring and then put the eyeballs in the water. The coolest thing about the fish bowl is that it has an LED light on top and it changes to like 4 different colors and one of them is red…perfect for some bloody eyeball potion!

This is what it looks like all together with some black spider webs thrown in!

This is what it looks like all together with some black spider webs thrown in!

I am very pleased with the way it turned out. If you guys decide to use these pins for inspiration, be sure to share pictures with us, I love seeing what other people create!

If you enjoyed this post, help me out by “liking” it below and by following the blog!

