Tags

, , , , , ,


20131020-115853.jpg

Granny cooking in her kitchen

It’s Sunday morning and I’m feeling a little nostalgic. One of my favorite things about Sundays, when I was a kid, was going to Granny’s house after church for Sunday dinner. I remember that she would start preparing all of our favorite dishes on Saturday night so that she could put them on to cook early the next morning. The whole family would come over Sunday afternoon and eat together. Granny always had enough food to feed an army! I looked forward to kibby, rolled cabbage, grape leaves, and stuffed squash all week long.

Now that I am an adult, with a family of my own, it is important to me that they get to experience these amazing foods and learn to love them and look forward to them the way I did as a child. That’s why I was so excited that Siobhan and the kids started requesting rolled grape leaves or stuffed squash on a regular day, not just for holidays.

So last night I cored my squash and got it ready to stuff this morning and when I start cooking I’ll think of my Granny. I’ll be reminded of all the Sundays I spent watching her make this squash and how happy she was to see us all enjoy it so much. Continuing this little family tradition fills me with absolute joy.

I hope you all have a very blessed Sunday and are able to find joy in this day as I have!

