Tags

, , , , , ,


The best part of Halloween is dressing up, agreed? Our kids get very excited about their costumes to the point where they are planning five Halloweens in advance what they want to be. Of course they change their minds 8,000 times before Halloween actually gets here. This year though, Kyra and Genesis chose something and actually stuck with it.

I found a version of Mario & Luigi on Pinterest (are you shocked?) that was perfect for them. When I showed it to them, they agreed it was the best idea ever – I know I am an awesome mom ;-D

This costume required me to make 2 tutus so that meant I needed to order some tulle. I know a lot of people buy tulle off the ream from Hobby Lobby but I prefer to use spool tulle because the tutu looks more uniform and full because the pieces are all the same width. You can buy tulle on the spool at Hobby Lobby or Wal-mart or some other stores but I prefer to order mine from BBCrafts because you get 100 yard spools versus 25 yard spools and it is cheaper to buy it this way. Besides that, BBCrafts has a ton of color choices so I knew for sure I would be able to find the bright blue I needed. Before I ordered the tulle I measured both girls’ waists and length so I could estimate how many rolls I would need. I ordered three and only used 2 so I have an extra one. I’d rather have too much than not enough anyway.

After the tulle arrived, I got started cutting the 23456789 zillion strips I was going to need. That’s only a slight exaggeration. I’m not sure where Siobhan found this method that we started using but it is really the most ingenious idea ever. It significantly reduces the amount of time spent cutting tulle. Cut a piece of cardboard to the length that you want the strips. In this case I needed them to be 11 inches long so my cardboard is 11 inches. I use a large clip to hold down one end of the tulle and then flip the cardboard piece end over end repeatedly until you have enough strips. Usually we’ll count them but since I knew I was going to at least need one full roll I didn’t bother counting I just used the entire spool. I stop periodically to cut so that the tulle isn’t too thick on the cardboard or else its hard to slide the scissors under it to cut.

IMG_2657

Once you've wrapped as many times as you want, cut the tulle from the spool

Once you’ve wrapped as many times as you want, cut the tulle from the spool

The slide the scissors under the entire stack of tulle to cut it from the cardboard.

The slide the scissors under the entire stack of tulle to cut it from the cardboard.

After I cut all my tulle, I brought out my dress form that my awesome mom got me for Christmas a few years ago. I pulled out some elastic to use for the waist band. I measured it out to be 28 inches but since I know that when I tie the tulle on the elastic, the elastic will stretch out, I don’t cut and sew mine together. I just safety pin it together and after I’ve gotten the majority of the tulle on, I measure again and see how close I am to the actual waist measurement. Once I’ve gotten about 2 inches from the length I need, I sew it together and then finish putting the tulle on the elastic.

I put the safety pinned elastic on my dress form to hold it in place while I tie on the tulle

I put the safety pinned elastic on my dress form to hold it in place while I tie on the tulle

Once I put my elastic around my form, I started tying the tulle. I take 2 strips and match them up at the ends, one on top of the other. Then fold it in half like the picture below.

fold the tulle in half before making the knot

fold the tulle in half before making the knot

place the middle piece under the elastic to create the opening for the knot

place the middle piece under the elastic to create the opening for the knot

feed the loose ends through the knot opening and pull tight

feed the loose ends through the knot opening and pull tight

I pull my knots tight enough that it folds the elastic in half. I don’t mind this, I think the knots look better smaller anyway. It is a little difficult to keep the knots tight when you first get started but after you add several pieces of tulle to the elastic, the fold stays put and you can tighten the knots that might have loosened up along the way. Like I mentioned above, I just continue adding the tulle until I get almost to the end where my elastic is pinned together. I actually took it off the form, laid it out on the table to and measured it, allowing myself an extra inch so I could sew it together.

I sewed the two ends together and then folded them over and added a few more stitches to hold it in half.

I sewed the two ends together and then folded them over and added a few more stitches to hold it in half.

After I finished adding all the tulle I needed to completely cover the elastic, I had one of the girls try it on. While she had it on, I took out the ribbon for the suspenders and measured it over her shoulder to see how long it would need to be. Then I cut two pieces the same length. I prefer my knots to be on the under side so I flipped the tutu then hot glued the ribbon onto the tutu by wrapping each end around the the waist, one end in the front and the other in the back (like suspenders only not criss crossed) After the two ribbon pieces were on, I glued the buttons on top in the front.

Hot glue the ribbon on first, then add the buttons on top.

Hot glue the ribbon on first, then add the buttons on top.

This is the finished product

This is the finished product

IMG_2669

In the inspiration image, the girls wore tank tops and tube socks with their costume. We’re anticipating that it will be a lot cooler by Halloween so we got the girls some bright blue jeggings to wear under the tutu and long sleeve shirts. We were able to find white gloves and mustaches too. The girls wanted mustaches that they didn’t have to hold so we found some for $0.97 that clip on their noses. I can’t wait to post pictures of the whole costume put together but you have to wait until Halloween for that!

***UPDATE –  Here’s the entire costume put together!***

IMG_2705

Wanna see how we recycled our tutu? Check out this blog post!

What are your kids going as for Halloween? Please share your diy costumes! Don’t forget to subscribe to the blog!

