Tags

, , , ,


Halloween is gone again for another year so we’ve already taken down the spooky wreath, spider webs, graveyard, and witchy nook. That means it’s time to start decorating for Christmas right? Wrong! I like my holidays one at a time folks and since Thanksgiving follows Halloween, that means it’s time to bring on the Turkey! Now, I’m not big on decorating the entire house for holidays, with the exception of Halloween, but I do like to hang a wreath for each season or holiday. I actually think this wreath obsession started around this time last year when I found this tutorial  from Baby Rabies on Pinterest. I just couldn’t handle how adorable her turkey wreath was so of course I had to make one for myself.

Like always, I used the original tutorial as inspiration and tweaked it to make it my own. Or in this case, tweaked it so that I didn’t have to purchase supplies so I used what I had on hand. If you read this post, you already know I’m cheap and lazy so if I have to make a store run for supplies to do a craft, it isn’t happening. Anyway, on the left you see the original from the tutorial and the one on the right is my version of a very adorable turkey wreath.

Collage

1. When I decided I wanted to make this wreath, I took inventory of everything I would need. Instead of buying a wreath form, I used a pool noodle we had gotten at the dollar store. I cut it down to size and used duct tape to hold it in the circle shape. This was a little more difficult than I bargained for and it made the wreath much larger than I anticipated. Since making this, I’ve opted to buy my wreath forms instead of making my own.

2. Instead of using the 3 different colors of tulle, since I didn’t have those colors, I used left over brown we had from a tutu dress. This particular tulle was purchased online from BBCrafts. I rolled out a section and wrapped it around the form to estimate how long it would need to be based on how much “fluff” I wanted sticking up. Then I used the same tie method I use in this tutorial. I wasn’t very precise with measuring how far around to add tulle, I just continued tying until I was satisfied that the turkey had enough “feathers”.

3. I had left over brown felt from an old project and I used it to cover the remaining portion of the form. I like her brown yarn method better for two reasons. The first is that I like the color better but also wrapping the yard around the form makes it look more uniform than using the flat material I used. You’ll notice some wrinkles and buckling in the fabric. It doesn’t really lay flat but like I said, I was using what I already had. I laid the fabric flat and wrapped it around the form and hot glued it down on the back side working my way around the circle. Then I went back and added some more tulle pieces over the top at the ends so that it transitioned smoother.

4. I don’t really know why we ever needed styrofoam balls but we had some so I just painted black circles on them and used those for the eyes. I hot glued mine directly onto my fabric and so far the eyes have stayed in tact.

5. In the original, she used a styrofoam cone for the beak but when I made our wreath, we were living in a house with a screen door on the front so I couldn’t use a cone or else the door wouldn’t close. I needed something flat instead so I cut out a triangle from a piece of foam. I used foam for the red gobble thingy also, yes that’s the technical term. I hot glued my beak on first and then added the gobbly thingies on top.

6. At this point, mine was pretty similar to the original but I felt like since there wasn’t much color on mine, I should add some. This is where the bow comes in. I used 7/8 in and 1.5 in ribbon to make a layered bow and then hot glued it directly to the wreath. I then cut a piece of yellow to put across the center to hide where I had tied and glued the different layers of the bow together.

7. Since my wreath was so huge, thanks to the pool noodle, I felt like it needed something in the center. I used two strands of left over rope to make the sign in the center. I hot glued each end to the back side of the wreath. Then I dug out all my foam letters and managed to find enough to spell out the words Happy Thanksgiving. I wasn’t too concerned with color pattern as long as the colors coordinated and there weren’t two letters of the same color right next to each other. I placed the letters out to make sure they all fit and were where I wanted them and then I just hot glued them to the rope.

There ya have it, my version of Thom The Turkey…I guess since mine is female its Tonya the Turkey. I hung her up yesterday and I have to say that I love this wreath just as much this year as I did last year when I first made it. I can’t wait for Thanksgiving. How do you decorate your house for the holidays?

turkey wreath

Love this tutorial? Please like and share it! Don’t forget to subscribe to the blog so you never miss a post!

