Tags

,


Day 20:

thankful21Today I am thankful that I know how to read and that I enjoy reading. I feel like books, regardless of whether they are fiction or nonfiction, are what make us smarter. The brain is one of those things, use it or lose it. Reading is a great way to exercise and feed your brain. It troubles me that so many children today, some of my own included, do not enjoy reading. Maybe it is something they’ll grow out of, at least I hope it is. I remember as a kid there was a reading campaign and their slogan was something like “reading is knowledge” and I feel like that is true. The more you read the more you know. Don’t starve your brain, go pick up a book!

Siobhan got me a Kindle Fire for my birthday last year. Once I got into reading on it I became completely addicted. I read about 20 books in about 2 months. All I did in my free time was read! When was the last time you sat down to read for enjoyment? What was the last book you read? I am currently reading a book written and published by my cousin. I plan to share her book and info with you all a little later on.

If you’re having a hard time choosing a gift for someone who enjoys reading you should consider the Kindle Fire. I’m not sure why but I read faster when I use it and I find it more difficult to put down than a traditional book. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the feel of a real book and I still have a bookcase full of paperbacks but I really, truly love my kindle! Plus you can do a lot more than just read. I even blog from mine!

