Tags

,


DIY Glass Christmas Ornaments

DIY Glass Christmas Ornaments

Every year we try to make a home made gift for the kids’ teachers and this year I made these DIY glass Christmas ornaments. We actually bought these ornaments last year to make as gifts and we never got around to it. This has been a pretty difficult holiday season for us, money is very tight so I knew that whatever I was going to make had to cost zero dollars. Not to mention the fact that we’ve been snowed/iced in since last Friday, I wasn’t trying to drag all 5 kids out in the weather for a trip to Wal-Mart.

Our four school aged kids all attend the same elementary school so I decided it would be fun to make each of their teachers an ornament that represented the school. The school’s mascot is an owl and the colors are green and gold. Owls are pretty popular and not incredibly difficult to draw/paint so I figured that even though my artistic skills aren’t that great, I could probably still pull it off.

I used acrylic paint and painted the owl directly onto the glass ornament. I got lucky that I had the colors I needed. Once I had the owl shapes painted on, I sealed the paint with acrylic sealer. I was worried that the sealer would made the ornament look cloudy but I think it turned out okay. I didn’t have much choice because if I hadn’t sealed it there would be a chance that the paint could chip or rub off and I wanted these to be long lasting. After I sealed the paint, I used E6000 and glued on some wiggly eyes and I think those really finish off the owls perfectly.

I wanted to include each teacher’s name and the year on the ornament but I’m not very good at painting words so I opted to write them with black sharpie. I had to go over it a few times to make it really dark but I am pleased with the way it turned out. I still felt like the ornament was a little plain. I had a few packages of feathers left over from my feather earring making days so I pulled those out and added some inside the ornament. I used plain white, speckled tan/white, green, and yellow. The feathers aren’t very noticeable at first but when you look at the ornament up close you can see them. I like how it subtly adds a little extra texture to the ornament.

After I finished with the inside and replaced the cap, I still felt like it was missing something. I had seen online that a lot of people add ribbon to the ornament hanger. I had originally purchased some owl themed ribbon so that I could make each of the girls a spirit bow to wear on Fridays so I used some of it for each of the ornaments. I then added a hanger to the ornament and called it finished. It took me pretty much all day to get them finished since I had to wait for each coat of paint to dry but I’m very pleased with the way they turned out and I hope the teachers will enjoy them.

 

IMG_2809

 

IMG_2814

