Tags

,


diyfamilybirthdayboard

Now that Christmas is over, I can finally post about some of the homemade gifts I did this year. I think my favorite is this DIY Family Birthday Board I made for my memaw. I’m not going to lie to you and tell you that this was a simple project because it was not. It probably took me a total of 10 hours or more over the course of several days to complete. It was however, fairly inexpensive (about $12). You guys know I like to use what I’ve got on hand and spend as little as possible when it comes to purchasing supplies for projects. I challenge myself to not be wasteful and use what I’ve already got plus this way I don’t blow our family budget on craft projects.

I started with an unfinished piece of wood I got from Hobby Lobby. I painted it white and then hand wrote the lettering in black sharpie. I had to do a little measuring to be sure I had enough space for all 12 month abbreviations. It would have been easier to use stickers for this part but I didn’t have enough of the same style to make it work so I used the sharpie method instead. Once the paint and sharpie were dry, I measured out and marked the spaces for the eyelet screws. I just hand screwed these into the underside directly under the month abbreviation. I didn’t have any picture hanging brackets so I just used two larger hooks, screwed them into the top, and then added a ribbon to use for the hanger. I also made a decorative bow to fill in some of the blank space on the board.

Once that was finished, I started painting my wooden nickel circles. I wanted to include all of our immediate family so I wrote it out on paper first and grouped everyone by family. I included my memaw and pawpaw, all four of their children and spouses, all of the grandchildren and spouses, and all of the great grandchildren. After I had my list and each member grouped accordingly, I chose a color to represent each family and then I started painting the circles. My package of circles had 45 in it and I didn’t need that many for our family but I painted the left over circles white for future family members or anyone else Memaw might want to add to the board.

Once the circles were all dry, I used the drill and our smallest drill bit to put two holes in each circle. One hole at the top and one at the bottom. After I had drilled all the holes, I started writing the names and dates on each circle. I just used first names and then the number under the name represents the date of the birthday. For example, my circle reads Amanda 9 and is hung under the April abbreviation because I was born on the 9th of April. After all my circles were named and numbered, I added the jump rings. Essentially each circle gets two rings, one to connect it to either the month hook or an existing birth date circle. I also added jump rings to the bottom holes of all of the circles so that it would be easier for Memaw to add them on as connectors if she needed to add new people to the board.Once all my circles had rings, I connected them together and hung them off the appropriate month. We had two months that did not have birthdays so I just added blank ones to fill the space.

I am pleased with the way it turned out but it was definitely a lot of work, not a one day project for sure.

Close up of the date circles linked together

Close up of the date circles linked together

 

Close up of the eyelet hooks and the jump ring connectors.

Close up of the eyelet hooks and the jump ring connectors.

 

