Tags

, ,


DIY Mardi Gras WreathIt’s been a while since I’ve blogged and it’s been even longer since I did a craft/diy post so I figured it was time. You guys know I love making wreaths and now that I’ve made this Mardi Gras wreath, I’ve got one for almost every season or holiday.

I think of all of the ones I’ve made, this is my new favorite. I’m a little sad that it will only get to hang on the door for about two weeks but there is always next year. This one wasn’t very difficult to make and probably only took me about an hour to do.

Things I used:

1/2 yard green sequin fabric

1/2 yard purple sequin fabric

wreath form

gold sequin mask

mardi gras beads

mardi gras coins

2 peacock style feather floral stems

Glue gun, glue sticks, scissors

Step 1: I wanted to alternate the green and purple so I cut the fabric into strips that were about 2-3 inches wide. I wrapped the strips around the wreath form, gluing as I wrapped. I bought 1/2 yard of each color at Hobby Lobby but I probably only used 1/4 of what I bought. Better to have too much than not enough though right?

Mardi Gras Wreath Step 1

This is what it will look like once you cover the form with the fabric

This is what it will look like once you cover the form with the fabric

Step 2: After the form is completely covered, I glued down my two peacock stems and my mask. Originally I wanted a feathered mask but I didn’t find one that I really liked so I went with the plain gold one from the Dollar Tree and got the peacock stems from Hobby Lobby. I glued down the peacock stems first and then glued the mask on top.

Mardi Gras Wreath Step 2

Step 3: I knew I wanted to hang the necklaces in the center portion of the wreath. I picked these up at Dollar Tree. They had different types of mask beads instead of just plain round beads on them which I thought was pretty cute. I cut them in increasingly longer lengths to create a kind of cascade look and glued them down on the back side of the wreath.

Mardi Gras Wreath Step 4

Step 4: I picked up some coins at the Dollar Tree and a second package of beads. I glued one coin of each color into a kind of triangle stack. I made four of these stacks and then glued two of them together creating two sets of 6 coins all glued together. I glued down the first of these to the upper right corner in the area where the cascading beads were glued down. The second set I put in the lower right corner across from the mask. The second package of beads had large crown pendants attached to them. I pulled those off and glued them in with the stacks of coins.

This is a close up of the coin stack and crowns

This is a close up of the coin stack and crowns

Step 5: The last thing I did was glue two of the left over necklace strands to the front of the mask. Originally the mask had silk ribbon ties but I liked the way the necklaces looked better so I cut those off and used the necklaces instead. I have a wreath hanger on our front door that I used to hang our wreaths so I didn’t feel the need to create a ribbon hanger or any other type for this one.

This is what it looked like when I was completely finished.

This is what it looked like when I was completely finished.

Like I said before, this one was pretty easy to make and I am really happy with the way it turned out!

 

Like this tutorial? Share the love by commenting, liking, pinning, or sharing!

