Tags

, , , ,


DIY Mini Witch Hat LogoI wanted to make some mini witch hats last year for Halloween but it never happened for one reason or another. Partly because I had too many DIY Halloween projects going on at once but also because I just couldn’t find a tutorial that I liked well enough to get me through it. After completing my DIY Mini Top Hat, which I posted yesterday, I had the motivation to just “wing it” and create my own DIY Mini Witch Hat using similar methods used in the top hat tutorial.

As you read through this, if it doesn’t seem clear, you may want to reference the video I linked in my mini top hat post. Of course the video is for making a top hat not a witch hat but I did mimic a lot of the steps for this tutorial.

Materials

  • card stock
  • cardboard
  • scissors
  • compass
  • marker or pencil
  • hot glue gun & glue
  • tape
  • fabric
  • hair clip
  • embellishments (tulle, rhinestones, ribbon)

Step 1: I just happen to own a compass. Quite luckily actually since I needed it for this project. I know there is some seriously complicated math algorithm that would give me the answer to this problem but since I am pretty close to remedial math level, I used my compass as a cheater method. I wasn’t sure exactly how big my “cone” needed to be so I just opened up my compass all the way and drew a pie shape semi circle on my sheet of card stock. This turned out to be bigger than I wanted so when I make more of these for my daughters, I’ll do it about half this size. I placed my compass point in the corner of the paper and drew my pie outward. Once I had the pencil mark down, I cut it out.

My mini compass opened up all the way.

My mini compass opened up all the way.

My traced semi circle pie shape.

My traced semi circle pie shape.

Step 2: After I cut out my pie shape, I rolled it into a cone. I did this a few times before gluing it together to kind of loosen the stiffness of the card stock. I wanted to make sure I got a good rounded cone and didn’t end up with any creases or lines where it curved. Then I hot glued the edges together overlapping them just a little bit. Once the glue dried, I added tape to the seam on both the inside and outside for added security.

My cone piece after it has been glued and taped.

My cone piece after it has been glued and taped.

Step 3: Once I had my cone glued together, I created my brim using a piece of cardboard. I used a roll of painters tape as a guide for creating a perfect circle. It turned out to be a good size for this hat but when I make the smaller version, I’ll have to find something different to trace. I cut out my circle using my scissors but you could use an exacto knife or something similar.

I used a roll of painters tape to trace my circle for the brim of my hat

I used a roll of painters tape to trace my circle for the brim of my hat

This is my brim piece once I cut it out.

This is my brim piece once I cut it out.

Step 4: After I had both of my hat pieces cut out, I covered them with black felt. You can use whatever fabric you want for this or you could even use patterned card stock or specialty paper and not cover them at all. I used felt because it is what I already had on hand. If you’re an avid reader of this blog you know that I almost never purchase supplies, I improvise and use what I’ve got. Obviously that isn’t always the case because I had to acquire these supplies somehow!

Anyway, I glued the corner of my cone piece to the corner of my piece of felt. After that dried, I glued down one edge of the felt and wrapped the piece around, pulling tight as I went. Then I glued down the other side creating a seam down the back of the hat right over the seam that was there from when I glued the card stock together. Then I trimmed off the excess fabric but I left a few inches at the bottom opening of the cone. Do this so you can tuck it inside the bottom of the cone and glue it down. I cut slits in the excess fabric at the bottom to make it easier to tuck it in. I made sure to pull each piece tight and glue it down with a lot of glue that way my hat had a nice smooth look, no buckling or ripples.

This is what my cone looked like after I glued down the felt and before I glued the end pieces down.

This is what my cone looked like after I glued down the felt and before I glued the end pieces down.

DIY Mini Witch Hat

This is what it looked like after I cut slits in the excess fabric and glued down the pieces.

Step 5: After I covered my cone piece, I covered my brim. I used a similar method and just added a little glue and pulled tight and glued as I went around the circle. I cut off the excess fabric to try and keep it from being too bulky. Make sure you pull it tight so the top side of your brim is smooth. Once the top side is covered, cut a circle out of the fabric and cover the underside where all your tucked and glued fabric is. I just used the same painters tape roll as a guide and then trimmed it down just a bit so the felt circle was a little smaller than the brim piece. Then I applied a crap ton of glue to the felt and pressed it down on the brim.

This is the underside of the brim once it was covered with the felt.

This is the underside of the brim once it was covered with the felt.

DIY Mini Witch Hat

I trimmed a second circle to be slightly smaller than the brim and glued it down to cover all the tucked and glued fabric.

DIY Mini Witch Hat

This is what the underside of the brim piece looked like once I glued down the felt circle piece.

Step 6: Once you have both pieces covered, you can put them together. I didn’t do that right away though because I knew I wanted to add an alligator clip to the hat so I did that before I assembled my hat just because I thought it might be easier to do it that way. I cut a small piece of felt out, clipped my alligator clip to it, then applied glue all over the underside of the felt piece and clip. I then pressed that down to the underside of the brim piece and made sure all the lose edges and corners were glued down too. I don’t want my clip to come off the hat so I used a lot of glue.

Glue down your clip if you're using one. I did this before assembling my two hat pieces.

Glue down your clip if you’re using one. I did this before assembling my two hat pieces.

Step 7: After my clip was secured in place, I glued my two hat pieces together. I applied hot glue all round the open edge of my cone and pressed it onto my brim piece making sure it was centered. Once it dried, I added a second layer of glue around the edge where the cone and brim meet up. I knew I was going to cover that up with ribbon anyway so I didn’t really care that it would be noticeable. If you don’t plan to put a ribbon trim piece you could use liquid stitch or something similar that dries clear.

hooray assembled hat!

hooray assembled hat!

Step 8: After I had my hat pieces put together, I started decorating and embellishing. There isn’t a right or wrong way to do this which is why I didn’t take pictures. For me, it is a creative process that involves a lot of frustration, burned fingers, tears, and cursing. For you maybe it isn’t so dramatic! Either way, I glued orange ribbon around the seam which I mentioned in step 7. Then I added a cute shabby candy corn piece that I got last year with the intention of making headbands for our girls (never happened btw). I used a pumpkin rhinestone which was also bought last year for those non existent headbands, as a kind of center piece between a “tulle fluff” and the candy corn. I used black, purple, and orange tulle scraps to make the little fluff piece and I also added some tulle along the underside of my brim.

tah-dah!

tah-dah!

IMG_3022

I’m pleased with the end result especially since I didn’t really have a tutorial to guide me but as I mentioned in the beginning, this turned out to be larger than I wanted. I intended for our daughters to wear one of these as a hair bow to school on Halloween but it is much too big for that so it looks like I’ll be wearing it instead and will be attempting to make a smaller version in the near future!

Plan on making one? Share your version with us!

Love this post? Share it with your friends!

Love this blog? Follow me! In this instance, stalking is allowed!

